Matt Edwards Makes His Mark in the Welsh Forest Rally Championship

17 April 2018  |  Ravenol Marketing

matt edwards swift ford fiesta wrc on rallynuts rally stages


A dominant performance by Matt Edwards saw him take outright victory on Saturday’s Rallynuts Stages Rally and maximum points in the Pirelli MSA Welsh Forest Rally Championship. However, Dylan Davies who now leads the Championship after a consistent performance in his Subaru Impreza.

Former Welsh Champion Luke Francis and co-driver John Roberts Edwards took second place in their WRC specification Fiesta, with Hugh Hunter and Rob Fagg coming in third to make it a Fiesta lock-out on the podium.  

Osian Pryce was not at Saturday’s Builth Wells based event, while top points scorer on round two, Nick Elliott, was side-lined on the opening stage with engine problems on his Ford Escort.

In the Group N category, Fiesta ST driver Kalvin Green tops the drivers’ points table and also heads the junior drivers’ category after closest rivals Matthew Hirst and Zak Hughes both crashed out of the event.  

In the two-wheel drive category, top driver honours went to Max Utting, bringing his front wheel drive Fiesta home ahead of the rear wheel drive cars for the first time. Second place went to Swindon duo Rob Dennis and Andrew Boswell in their Mark II Escort, with Owen McMackin and Lee Taylor finishing third.

Colin Griffiths tops the driver standings in the two-wheel drive category and also heads the RAVENOL Welsh Challenge for drivers who have not finished in the top 10 of a National B status event. Top of the RAVENOL Welsh Challenge co-drivers is Declan Dear retaining the lead despite crashing out of the event alongside driver Matthew Hirst.

The next round of the Pirelli MSA Welsh Forest Rally Championship is the Plains Rally. The Welshpool based event, organised by Knutsford and District Motor Club, takes place on Saturday 12th May. More information about the Plains Rally can be found on the event web site, and the Pirelli MSA Welsh Forest Rally Championship website

Photo c/o Rallysport Media